30 years Anniversary of the Calotte Academy

In this May, it is the 30 years anniversary of the Calotte Academy, as the first international seminar took place in May 23-24, 1991 in Inari. Since then the Academy is been run as an international travelling symposium and network for academic discussion and policy-oriented dialogue, as well as for dissemination of research and expertise.

The 30 years anniversary reception will take place for invited participants on Tuesday, June 1, 2021 at 3:00-5:00 PM (UTC/GMT + 3h) at Jeera in Inari.

The Calotte Academy 2021 is planned to take place 15-21 November. For more information please have a look at the first call for papers.

Calotte Academy Fellowship

There has been an idea to institutionalize the cooperation and partnership with those senior scholars and other experts (either with PhD and professorship, or other kind of real expertise on Northern / Arctic studies), who have attended, given a presentation at, supervised the young researchers of, or in other ways contributed to the Calotte Academy within the last years. Followed from this, the Calotte Academy Fellowship was launched at the opening session of the 2016 Academy. Among the first Calotte Academy Fellows are Prof. Matthias Finger, EPFL, Switzerland; Director Liisa Holmberg, SAKK, Finland / Sapmi; Prof. Steve Lamy, University of Southern California, USA; Prof. Heather Nicol, Trent University, Canada; Dr. Larissa Riabova, Luzin Institute of Economic Studies, Russia; and Prof. Alexander Sergunin, St. Petersburg State University, Russia.

The Calotte Academy Fellowship is an additional human resource for research, when planning research and raising funds for research, as well as for supervision of PhD candidates and advanced MA students. Calotte Academy Fellows have already contributed and will contribute to the research done at / by Faculty of Social Sciences at University of Lapland, as well as PhD candidates of the faculty. It is a loose network of Arctic experts all over the Arctic Region, from Nordic Region, North America, Europe and Russia (at the first stage).